July 16, 2009

WIP Wednesday

Posted in 1 tagged , , , at 12:19 am by suepenkivech

A few weeks ago a friend of mine, KV Taylor started posting WIP Wednesday reports on her blog to track the progress she’d made on her newest novel.

Given that I tend to start strong and then trickle off for a few months, I’m going to give it a shot and see if it’ll help keep me on track!

From the Ashes is my newest work in progress, a science fiction time travel/romance story about a man named Mark who goes back in time to save his world – and to save his friend’s sister from herself.


5,756 / 80,000 words. 7% Complete!

Here’s a quick excerpt from Chapter 2, for your reading enjoyment:

“Leanne, I’m telling you, I didn’t do it.”

Leanne sighed and reached up to rub her forehead, oblivious to the way the motion left her reddish-blond hair in disarray, and tried desperately to suppress the headache she could feel inching its way up to a migraine. She’d been so lucky with Paul, in the year and a half since their parents had died – he was a good kid overall, and didn’t cause her any real problems.

His best friend, though-

“Mr. Piotrowski, we have witnesses who saw you with the can of spray paint,” the school principal said, leaning forward over his desk. He looked, Leanne decided, sort of like a pit bull – same skinny pinched face, same stubborn, ready to bite expression.

She’d never been fond of pit bulls.

2 Comments »

  1. Katey said,

    Hahaha I like it! Of course, I also like pit bulls. No one’s surprised.

    It keeps me on track pretty well in this summer of distraction. By rights I shouldn’t have gotten a damn thing done, seeing as I’ve not had a weekend to myself in ages. Here’s hoping it continues for you (because I’m selfish and want more entertainment. It’s true!)

  2. Cory said,

    Ooh, I’m intrigued! Looking forward to more of these snippets 🙂


Leave a Reply

