January 26, 2009

Back to Business

Posted in 1 at 8:22 pm by suepenkivech

So, the holidays are over. The kids have returned to school, and the Christmas decorations are back under the basement stairs, where they’ll stay until I realized I inadvertently packed the Halloween decorations behind them. That being months away, it should be time to get back to writing.

Well…it is, and it isn’t.

You see, with the re-opening of schools comes the beginning of the Spring bookfair season. I’m not entirely clear on why they call it “Spring”, given that there’s a lot of snow outside, but I suppose it’s easier than changing themes at a randomly determined date when winter might actually (as opposed to officially) be over.

More to the point, though, it means that I’m running around from school to school, setting up fairs, doing “book talks” for the volunteers and students, and ordering more stock when the schools in question run out. It doesn’t leave a lot of time for writing, but that’s okay. I’m fitting it in piecemeal.

On the Writing Agenda:

1) Still working on The Adventures of Gilbert Oglethorp, aka Prince Charming. I expect I’ll be working on this for some time, though I got past the block I had last month and the new chapter is in progress.

2) A futuristic/steampunk mystery, with a pair of time travellers who are the Sherlock Holmes/Dr. Watson team of an AU Victorian Massachussets. This is probably going to be slightly longer than the average short story, but I’m only about 1/3 of the way done with it, so it’s really too early to say.

3) Researching quantum physics for my (hopefully) next novel. I can’t really remember the last time I read this much non-fiction, but I’m enjoying it.

4) Trying to drum up ideas for the 2012 Apocalypse anthology by Severed Press. I was going to provide a link, but their site seems to be down at the moment. I’m hoping this isn’t an indication that the anthology won’t be happening after all.

On a totally unrelated note, if you’re a fan of comics, pick up Peter David’s most recent issue of X-Factor (#39). Beautiful writing in there, as one can always expect of Peter David. I have my own opinions on where he’s going with the storyline, but I’m looking forward to him proving me either right OR wrong.

Hope everyone out there is having a wonderful 2009 thus far!

Leave a Reply

